Our Staff

In the office

Leann Roering

Administrative Assistant

roering_leann@asdk12.org

 

Bio

×

Fran O'Donnell

Secretary

odonnell_fran@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Anna McGlocklin

Assistant Principal

mcglocklin_anna@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Petra Burkard

Nurse

burkard_petra@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Pre-K

Emily McLaughlin

Teacher

mclaughlin_emily@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Kindergarten

Hillary Inman

Teacher

Inman_Hillary@asdk12.org

 

My name is Hillary Inman. I am originally from a small town in Indiana. I recently moved here with my husband and two dogs to Alaska. We drove from Florida all the way to Alaska. It was a long and beautiful journey. I am so excited to be here in Anchorage and at Alaska Native Cultural Charter School. I am currently teaching Kindergarten. I have taught Kindergarten for three years. I enjoy working with young students and watching them grow.

×

Tina Sweet

Teacher

sweet_tina@asdk12.org

 

My name is Tina Sweet. I'm originally from Melbourne, Florida. I'm a retired military dependent. I have lived in Florida, Germany, Mississippi, Maryland, Azores, and Alaska. I graduated from University of Alaska Fairbanks with a bachelor's degree with a major in Elementary Education and a minor in Early Education. I also received a master's degree in Leadership of Teaching with an emphasis as a reading specialist from Notre Dame Maryland. I have been teaching for fourteen years; six years at Willow Crest, three years in Calvert County Maryland and five years at ANCCS teaching kindergarten. What a wonderful community we have here!

×

First grade

Veronica Kaganak

Teacher

kaganak_veronica@asdk12.org

 

My name is Veronica Kaganak. I am originally from Scammon Bay, Alaska and have been teaching since 1991. I came to ANCCS when the school first opened. Since then, I have taught Kindergarten, Yup’ik and 1st grade. I have also taught 2nd grade and 1st/2nd combination classes in the past. My husband and I have 2 girls and 2 boys. We all enjoy fishing, clamming and hunting. I also enjoy skin sewing and singing and watching movies or shows with my family. QUYANA

×

Diane Gilila

Teacher

Gilila_Diane@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Second Grade

Arika Pavadore

Teacher

pavadore_arika@asdk12.org

 

×

Megan Freeman

Teacher

freeman_megan@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Third Grade

Harrington Christine

Teacher

harrington_christine@asdk12.org

 

My name is Christine Harrington, 3rd grade teacher at Alaska Native Cultural Charter School (ANCCS). I began my third year at ANCCS in August 2015. I was born and raised in the rural village of McGrath. I attended college at the University of Hartford and the University of Alaska Anchorage. I graduated from the University of Alaska Anchorage with a Bachelor of Arts in Education (K-6) in 2005. I spent 7 years teaching in the communities of Kotzebue and McGrath before moving to Anchorage and joining the team at ANCCS. I have taught Kindergarten, Special Education, 3rd and 4th grades. During the summer I return to McGrath, where I work as a dispatcher with the Department of Natural Resources assisting in suppression of forest fires in Alaska. I also organize a music festival in McGrath each July for KSKO Radio.

×

Kaleigh Thompson

Teacher

thompson_kaleigh@asdk12.org

 

×

Fourth Grade

Georgianna Starr

Teacher

starr_georgianna@asdk12.org

 

My name is Georgianna Starr, originally from Scammon Bay, AK. My parents are Zita (Sundown) Haddon and the late Leonard Haddon. My father is the late Rev. John Starr from Tanana. I grew up in Scammon Bay, Bethel, California, Anchorage, and Glennallen. I started teaching in 1999 with the Lower Kuskokwim School District first in Kasigluk and then Bethel at Ayaprun Elitnaurvik Yup’ik Immersion Charter. I taught Language Arts and Math for 3-6th Grade. I moved to Anchorage in 2010 where I taught with CITC at Begich Middle School for two years. Now I"m at ANCCS continuing to work with our Alaska Native Students. Quyana!

×

4th / 5th Grade

Clara Amidon

Teacher

amidon_clara@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Fifth Grade

Seralee Kairaiuak

Teacher

kairaiuak_seralee@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Sixth Grade

Joe Kottre

Teacher

kottre_joseph@asdk12.org

 

My name is Mr. Kottre and I teach 6th grade at Alaska Native Cultural Charter School. My favorite hobbies include playing sports, fishing, camping, hiking, and walking my dogs daily. I was born and raised here in Anchorage, Alaska, and after high school I started working on airplanes out at Lake Hood. By working on airplanes I have been able to travel throughout Alaska, from Adak way out in the Aleutian Isands to the far North of Barrow, Alaska.

×

Seventh/ Eighth Grade

Danielle Riha

Seventh grade teacher

riha_danielle@asdk12.org

 

Piacere (nice to meet you)! I come from Italian heritage and find the Alaska Native cultural ways of learning to be quite similar to my family’s teachings. Currently, I am teaching 7th/8th Math and Language Arts as well as 7th grade Culture. My passion for learning has inspired me to earn a Masters of Education in Reading and half of my Phd. in Cultural Curriculum. I have the honor of receiving the National Disney Honor Teacher Award of 2005. Outside of school, I love to hike, fish, dance, listen to live music, watch NBA (GO SPURS!) and explore places and cultures. I am the proud mother of a beautiful young lady, Bessie Binkowski, who has blessed me with two grand-boys, Camden and Landon. I am also a parent of a great soldier, Travis Kayouktuk. My students, family and friends keep me busy and make my life/world an amazing place! Ciao!

×

Additional Teaching Staff / Specialists

Denise Ray

Math/Language Arts teacher

ray_denise@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Sonja Whitford

Instructional Coach

whitford_sonja@asdk12.org

 

Sonja Whitford grew up in the Midwest. After earning a degree in Biology in Minnesota, she headed to Wyoming, where she “played” in the snow and made her living by taking people on horse pack trips into the Bridger-Teton Wilderness. She returned to school to pursue an Elementary Education degree, and began her teaching career in a one-room K-8 school. Over the next 20 years, Mrs. Whitford taught in a variety of grade levels in Laramie, Wyoming. In December of 2014, Mrs. Whitford and her husband and stepson moved to Anchorage, AK. She began working at ANCCS as the Enrichment TA, and is currently the Title 1 Reading Specialist. She and her family are enjoying Alaska. They are especially enjoying salmon fishing and camping as much as possible. Mrs. Whitford is honored to be a part of ANCCS and enjoys working with our amazing staff and students.

×

Lorina Warren

Special Education Teacher

warren_lorina@asdk12.org

 

My name is Lorina Warren. I am the Special Education Teacher at the Alaska Native Cultural Charter School. I have been teaching for 27 years, all in Alaska. I am from Chevak, Alaska, which is located between the Kuskokwim and Yukon River. I am a fluent speaker in Cup'ik. I got my bachelors degree for teaching through Sheldon Jackson College in Sitka and my special education certificate through UAA in Anchorage. As soon as I was done with college, I became a long term substitute in Scammon Bay, teaching kindergarten. I then moved back to my home village and became a 2nd grade teacher. I taught Elementary for 10 years and 17 years in special education Preschool through highschool. I have also taught in LKSD and AGSD. I have been with ASD since 2005. I also have been teaching "yuraq" cup'ik/yup'ik eskimo dancing at ANCCS. Ii-i taw'a. Quyana.

×

Dirks Moses

ELL

moses_dirks@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Leah Kellerby

Counselor

kellerby_leah@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Jonathan Dodge

Art teacher

dodge_jonathan@asdk12.org

 

My name is Jonathan Dodge. I was born here in Anchorage and a lot of my roots are in Alaska, but I grew up in central Arkansas. From an early age I have nurtured a passion for the arts, and spent much of my time with my nose in a sketch book. I attended the Memphis College of Art and received my Bachelors of Fine Art with an emphasis in painting and a minor in art history. Shortly after graduating I started teaching visual art for Memphis City Schools, were I discovered my love for teaching. Children are among the most adaptive and creative people in the world and I love helping that creativity grow and thrive. This is my first year here at ANCCS. I have been excited to learn and be a part of the many rich artistic traditions of Alaskan Native cultures. The opportunity to teach art from a cultural perspective has been a wonderful learning experience and I look forward to my future with the students and staff of ANCCS.

×

Andy Rosamilia

PE Teacher

rosamilia_andy@asdk12.org

 

Andrew Rosamilia was born in Pennsylvania where he spent most of his childhood participating in sports such as soccer, tennis, basketball, hunting, and fishing. It is here he fell in love with the outdoors. He attended Messiah College where he obtained a bachelors in environmental science. He also played college soccer at Messiah and won four division three NCAA national championships. During his high school and college years he took many trips to Alaska and was entranced by the inherent beauty it possesses. He then attended Lock Haven University where he obtained his teaching degree in Health and Physical Education. Andrew immediately started applying for teaching jobs in Alaska once he graduated. He now resides in Anchorage with his wife Allison and enjoys the outdoors as much as possible.

×

Katie Tunuchuk

Yup'ik teacher

tunuchuk_katie@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Support Staff

TBA FSSC

Family School Service Coordinator

TBA@asdk12.org

 

×

Judy Shero

21st Century

shero_judy@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Alice McDonald

21st Century

mcdonald_alice@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Rebecca Slator

Pre-K TA

slator_rebecca@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Karoline Rivera

Kindergarten TA

rivera_karoline@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Mike Lapp

Cafe Manager

lapp_mike@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

TBA Special Education TA

Special Education TA

TBA@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

TBA Kindergarten TA

Kindergarten TA

TBA@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Jamie Whiteman

Interventionist

whiteman_jamie@asdk12.org

 

Hello! My name is Jamie Whiteman. I'm a teacher's assistant here at the school. I grew up in Anchorage and am currently finishing up my Elementary Education degree at UAA. I'm a dedicated runner who runs as many local races as I can including, Mt. Marathon in Seward, Turnagain Arm Trail Run, Alyeska Classic Mountain Run, Hatcher Pass Marathon, Equinox Marathon in Fairbanks, and the Willow Winter Solstice Marathon. I love hiking, mountain biking, kayaking, cross country skiing, camping, and fishing as well. I'm also in a local band who takes any excuse to travel around the state. I help organize a few community events every year including the D St. Block Party and the great big heART show at Middle Way Cafe. I host the Under 21 Open Mics at Middle Way as well during the school year. I love kids, Anchorage, and ANCCS.

×

Jason Poserio

BPO

poserio_jason@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Theresa Cholok

Noon Duty

cholok_theresa@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Mildred Nelson

Noon Duty

nelson_mildred@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Ana Torres

Noon Duty

torres_ana@asdk12.org

 

Bio information here

×

Bongi Agerter

Principal
agerter_bongi@asdk12.org
(907) 742-1370

 

My name is Bongi Agerter, principal at ANCCS. I was born and raised in Johannesburg, South Africa. I have lived in many different and exciting countries including England, Germany and of course the US. During this time I worked with children in elementary and middle schools teaching dance, drama and music. I graduated from Alaska Pacific University with a Bachelor of Arts in Education (K-8), and, from UAA with a Master’s degree in Educational Leadership. I currently hold both Alaska teacher and Principal Certificates. I have worked with grades K through 6 in the ASD for many years prior to moving to Mat-Su. During my 5 years in Mat-Su I taught Kindergarten, 2nd and 3rd grade while performing some administrative duties as well. I then moved back to Anchorage and had the honor of teaching 4th grade at ANCCS during the 2014/2015 school year. I enjoy gardening, dancing, cooking and teaching. I love the summers in Alaska, especially when they are nice and sunny!

×